Fleet Focus

Drivers honored for safe driving, good service

Boyd Bros. Transportation, based in Clayton, Ala., honored company drivers Theodore Shears and Stevie Verges for logging 2 million miles accident-free. Shears has driven for the flatbed carrier for 21 years while Verges has been with the fleet for 16 years. Drivers with the best mileage per gallon are Wayne Loesch, non-APU, and Larry McInnis, APU. Willie Brown is Safe Driver of the Year. Michael Richardson is Driver of the Year.


American Central Transport Inc., based in Liberty, Mo., named Edmund Bruce Gray the 2010 Safety Star Driver of the Year… Fort Dodge, Iowa-based Decker Truck Lines Inc. named Drivers of the Month — for February and March, respectively — Jim Rowe and Kenny Clark in the flatbed division and Robert Dodds and Ben Hubbard in the reefer-van division… Pacific, Wash.-based Gordon Trucking Inc. team drivers Jim and Jo Bailey were honored for driving 5 million safe miles, and the carrier’s Brian Runnels was chosen as January Driver of the Month by the Wisconsin Motor Carriers Association… Republic Moving & Storage, based in Chula Vista, Calif., won the 2010 Moving and Storage Agent of the Year Service Award, the American Moving & Storage Association’s top honor.


Crete Carrier Corp. has raised starting driver pay 2 cents per practical mile at Crete Carrier and Shaffer Trucking… Hunt Transportation, based in Omaha, Neb., raised starting and existing pay 2 cents per mile and owner-operator mileage pay 4 cents… Western Express, based in Nashville, Tenn., raised its starting pay 2 cents per mile for flatbed and dry van drivers.


Integrated Freight Corp., based in Sarasota, Fla., bought refrigerated hauler Cross Creek Trucking, based in Medford, Ore.

The Business Manual for Owner-Operators
Overdrive editors and ATBS present the industry’s best manual for prospective and committed owner-operators. You’ll find exceptional depth on many issues in the 2022 edition of Partners in Business.
Partners in Business Issue Cover