Fleet insider

Ruan Honors Million Miler
Ruan Transport recently honored driver Steve Muirhead, who received the Ruan Million Mile Safety Award, recognizing his million miles of accident-free driving for Ruan. Dave Cochran, Muirhead’s manager, selected him to receive the award. When asked what tips he would share with other drivers, Muirhead advised to always be alert, pay attention and slow down. He has received seven safety awards from Ruan and is a firm believer in the company’s motto: “Safety First.”

Marten Drivers of the Month
Marten Transport recently announced its Drivers of the Month for August 2008: Phillip and Brenda Mann, Mike Katzenbach, Anthony Watson, Ledor Coleman, Erwin Burney, Ken Jett, Vicki Thundereagle, Brian Bomberger, Janet Medlock, Pablo Waldman, Steve Gaynor, Dan Hellard, Jack Meetze, Doyle Brown, Michael Sullivan, Ronald Byers, Glynn Hintze, Stuart Justin Gibbs, Jeff Clagget, Michael B. Wallace, Jimmy Grady, Danny Drake, Jason Brooks, John Pickett, Scott Fee, Steve Stamper, Ray Boyer, Daniel Veitch, Kenneth Summers Jr., Tim Dow, Thomas Dixon and Randy Grizzle.

To qualify for this award, drivers must be accident free and meet a minimum of 10,500 miles for the month. They also must have 100 percent on-time deliveries.

SmartWay Names Award Winners
Several carriers announced that they received a 2008 Environmental Excellence Award from the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency’s SmartWay Transport Partnership for their leadership in conserving energy and lowering greenhouse gas emissions. These awards recognize freight industry leaders that have made significant contributions to protecting the environment through their participation in the partnership.

Freight Carriers: American Central Transport, Celadon Trucking Services, Challenger Motor Freight, Con-way Freight, Covenant Transport, Dillon Transport, Gordon Trucking, J.B. Hunt Transport Services, NFI, Pacific Harbor Line, Quad/Graphics, Roehl Transport, Schneider National, Stan Koch & Sons Trucking, Swift Transportation Company, Trailer Bridge, UPS, Watkins Shepard Trucking.

Shippers: HP, Kohl’s Department Stores, Kimberly-Clark Corporation, Lowe’s Companies, Sharp Electronics Corporation.

Logistics Companies: APL Logistics, Hub Group, Transplace.

Affiliates: Cascade Sierra Solutions.

Maverick Transportation Receives Patriot Award
Morgan Forrest, fleet manager at Maverick Transportation LLC, recently was awarded the Patriot Award. The Arkansas Committee for Employer Support of the Guard and Reserve (ESGR) presented this award to Forrest and Maverick in recognition of extraordinary support of the company’s employees who serve in the National Guard and Reserve. “The Patriot Award was created by ESGR to publicly recognize individuals who provide outstanding patriotic support and cooperation to their employees who, like the citizen warriors before them, have answered their nation’s call to serve,” says Richard Green, ESGR Arkansas program specialist. “Morgan Forrest was nominated for being highly supportive of the National Guard and Reserve Service by his Reserve Component Employees. Supportive supervisors are critical to maintaining the strength and readiness of the nation’s National Guard and Reserve units.”

Decker Drivers of the Month
Decker Truck Line selected Carl Vettel as the September 2008 driver of the month for the Reefer/Van division. Carl and his wife Trina live in Hampton, Iowa. They have two sons, Adam and David, and enjoy camping and riding motorcycles in their spare time. M. Brett Duncan was selected as the September 2008 Driver of the Month for the Flatbed division. Brett, his wife Vickie and their children live in Des Moines, Iowa. They have two sons, Brian and Alex, and a married daughter, Rebekah. They also are the proud grandparents of Rebekah’s three sons and will welcome a granddaughter in December.

Decker Truck Line itself was recognized at the Iowa Motor Truck Association’s “Best of the Best” awards luncheon held Sept. 17 in Des Moines. Decker received the 2008 IMTA Fleet Safety Award in the category of Truckload Carriers with more than 15 million miles and the 2008 IMTA Grand Trophy for Iowa Fleet Safety. Decker was selected from 23 first-place division winners. As an award winner, the company has demonstrated its continued dedication to safety with accident-free miles, excellent safety ratings and an ongoing commitment within the company to making safety a top priority.

Bahne Stuecker received recognition as a 2008 IMTA Outstanding Professional Driver. Stuecker has been a professional driver for 26 years and has driven 2.6 million miles. Dave Bush was recognized as a 2008 IMTA Iowa Road Team member. The Iowa Road Team is a group of professional drivers selected each year to represent the trucking industry. Though they are still full-time drivers, these individuals take several days throughout the year to travel across the state and talk to the public about highway safety and trucking issues.