Ruan Honors Million-Milers
Ruan Transport Corporation recently honored a group of drivers by awarding them with the Ruan Million Mile Safety Award.

3 million miles: Craig Kvam; 2 million miles: Dick Growden, Ed Aboen; 1 million miles: John Ziltener, Tony Honeywell, John Iacolucci, Angel Suarez, Dave Blake, Rick Romanowski, Larry Hopkins, Marty McLean, Dave McCourt, Noel Beauregard, Don Laird, Tor West, Mike Ragland, Vern Skrdlant, Sherman Peterson, Pat Tuttle, Joe Wheeler.

Bennett Motor Express Drivers of the Year
The 2008 Bennett Motor Express Driver of Year winners are:
General Freight Driver of the Year: Robert S. Wilbur of Acworth, Ga., joined Bennett Motor Express in 1987, and is a member of the President’s Million Mile Club, which honors owner-operators who have driven a million safe, accident-free miles.
Heavy-Haul Driver of the Year: John David West of Raeford, N.C., became a Bennett Motor Express owner-operator in 2006 and was previously honored as the September 2008 Heavy-Haul Division Driver of the Month.

TCA National Safety Awards
The Truckload Carriers Association (TCA) is pleased to announce the 2008 division winners of its highly coveted National Fleet Safety Awards. The awards recognize those companies that show a superior commitment to safety and accident reduction.
Division I Winners (less than 5 million miles): 1st Place: Rocha Transport, Modesto, Calif.; 2nd Place: Crown LSP Group, Rocky Mount, N.C.; 3rd Place: Frerichs Freight Lines, Belleville, Ill.
Division II Winners (5-14.99 million miles): 1st Place: Stone Belt Freight Lines, Shoals, Ind.; 2nd Place: Glass Operating Group, Newkirk, Okla.; 3rd Place: Landstar Gemini, Jacksonville, Fla.
Division III Winners (15-24.99 Million Miles): 1st Place: Stagecoach Cartage & Distribution, El Paso, Texas; 2nd Place: Witte Brothers Exchange, Troy, Mo.; 3rd Place: CRST Dedicated Services, Birmingham, Ala.
Division IV Winners (25-49.99 Million Miles): 1st Place: MacKinnon Transport, Guelph, Ontario, Canada; 2nd Place: Freymiller, Oklahoma City, Okla.; 3rd Place: Kennesaw Transportation, White, Ga.
Division V Winners (50-99.99 Million Miles): 1st Place: Carter Express, Anderson, Ind.; 2nd Place: Landstar Inway, Jacksonville, Fla.; 3rd Place: Navajo Express, Denver, Colo.
Division VI Winners (100+ Million Miles): 1st Place: Bison Transport, Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada; 2nd Place: Roehl Transport, Marshfield, Wisc.; 3rd Place: Hogan Transports, Bridgeton, Mo.

Dart Transit Contractors of the Month
Dart Transit’s September 2008 Contractors of the Month are Randy Matthews and Ray Heiden. Matthews has been in the trucking industry 12 years and has contracted his truck with Dart since 2005. Heiden has contracted his truck with Dart for 18 of his 40 years in the trucking industry. Dart’s Contractors of the Month for October and November 2008 are Gary Anderson, Randall Johnson, George Mowry and Michael Sieling. Anderson has contracted his truck with Dart for 11 years. Johnson has contracted his truck with Dart for 13 of his 22 years in the trucking industry. Mowry has contracted his truck with Dart for 13 of his 44 years in the trucking industry. Sieling has contracted his truck with Dart for 18 years and in 2002 received the National Safety Council’s One Million Mile Safety Award for driving a million accident-free miles.

Compliance Safety Honors Carriers
Compliance Safety Systems honored J.B. Hunt Transport, Maverick Transportation, Dart Transit, US Xpress, WSE Transportation and USA Truck with its inaugural awards for exemplifying dedication to safety and overall compliance to DOT regulations. CSS also presented 10 other fleet customers with appreciation awards for their five-year tenure as a customer of Compliance Safety Systems. Those customers are McGuire Transportation, Cinco J, Schmidt Brothers, Christenson Transportation, Jupe Transportation, Builders First Source, Missouri Eagle, James D. Vandever Trucking, Jason’s Deli Distribution, Bilbo Transport, C.A.R Transport, Vitran Express and Marrlin Transit.

Trucker Buddy Drivers of the Month
John Rust, an owner-operator leased to Anderson Truck Service of St. Cloud, Minn., is the Trucker Buddy Driver of the Month for August 2008. John and his wife Anna have been matched with Linda Ross’s Blacksburg, S.C., class for the past four years. Pauline and Gary Nelson are the September Drivers of the Month. They have been Trucker Buddies for fourth grade at W.A. Olmsted Elementary School in Harpursville, N.Y., for the past five years. October 2008 Drivers of the Month are Albert and Kym Hemerson, who are matched with Barbara Swalina’s 4th-grade class out of the North Glendale Elementary School in Kirkwood, Mo. The November 2008 Driver of the Month was Randy Boswell. Linda Myers of the JJ Jones Intermediate School in Mount Airy, N.C., and her 5th-grade class cannot say enough good things about Randy, who drives for Florelli Transportation of West Liberty, Iowa. Douglas Wyman was the December 2008 Driver of the Month. Chris Younquist’s 5th-grade class at Lincoln Intermediate School in Manmouth, Ill., has been matched with Wyman for the past four years. Doug drives for TMC Transportation of Des Moines, Iowa.

TMC Driver Gets Wheel Master Award
TMC Transportation recently honored company driver Marvin Hayes with the highest driver honor given by TMC, the Wheel Master Award for 2008. Hayes has been with TMC since 1997. He also was recognized with the Driver of the Quarter Award for the second quarter in 2007. Hayes’ dedication to excellence, safety record, productivity and many other outstanding qualities are what made him the perfect recipient, the company says. The Wheel Master Award is based on years of service with the company, safe driving record and overall quality performance.

Marten December Drivers of the Month
Marten Transport recently announced its Drivers of the Month for December 2008: William Gamble, John Evans, Wayne Sanders, Michael Staten, Brian Hights, Thomas Wendt, Jarrett Alexander, Carl Westmoreland, David Circosta, Daryl Dani, Andrew Stitt, Bob Stevens, William Howard, Joseph Ngoma, Randy Williams, Stuart Gibbs, James W. Duncan, Johnny Wattenburg, Matt Kolleng, Don Patterson, David Parker, Mark Budd, Ed Shamburger, Joel Abegglen, Duane Pepper, Roger Hawkins and Ken Jacobs.