West Side Transport names 2008 winner

West Side Transport recently named Dave Fleming its 2008 Driver of the Year. Fleming, of Stanley, Iowa, was selected after being named Driver of the Month in November. He was selected from a field of 12 Drivers of the Month for 2008. The award is based on outstanding achievement in driven miles, fuel management, service and professionalism. Other West Side Drivers of the Month for 2008 were:

January: Elaine Bodnar, Endicott, N.Y.; February: Henry Schaper, Farmington, Mo.; March: Reginald Kent, Johnston, Penn.; April: Will Parrish, Yadkinville, N.C.; May: Jacob Siebels, Mt. Vernon, Ill.; June: Royal Willits, Keithsburg, Ill.; July: Steve Willson, Lisbon, Iowa; August: James Boulet, Marion, Iowa; September: Henry Schaper, Farmington, Mo.; October: Phil Ogg, New Hampton, Iowa; November: Dave Fleming, Stanley, Iowa; December: Rick Troester, Shellsburg, Iowa

DistTech Honors Million-Mile Drivers
DistTech is proud to welcome 23 company drivers to the company’s Million Miles Club and another five drivers to the Two Million Miles Club. These drivers earned the honor for having achieved one million or more consecutive accident-free miles throughout their driving careers. Additionally, William Haar, a 40-year professional driver based in Newbury, Ohio, recently reached the Three Million Mile milestone.

DistTech drivers who recently reached the 2-million-mile mark include: Fort Worth, Texas: Charles Maelbrancke, Douglas Parsley; Newbury, Ohio: Robert S. Becker, James Pal; Dayton, Ohio: Ron Gregoncza.

Joining the ranks of 1 million miles accident-free are: Beaumont, Texas: James Conley; Dayton, Ohio: Michael Ball, Charles Hamm, Dennis Knece, Clyde Thompson, Michael Ward; Denver: David Martin; Fort Worth, Texas: Ray Conner; Gurnee, Ill.: Guy Rymill; Huron, Ohio: Russell Camp; Ironton, Ohio: Ronald Harris, Earl Matthews, Bill Pack; Kent, Wash.: Dennis Frank; Neville Island, Pa.: Jack Baker; Newbury, Ohio: Sherman Horton, Sebastian Petre, Martin Roach, Dave Tansek, Martin Uber; Rancho Cucamonga, Calif.: Robert Lamere, John Mills; Reynolds, Ga.: Ralph McCants.

Partner Insights
Information to advance your business from industry suppliers

Transport America Million-Milers
Transport America announced its 2008 fourth quarter million mile achievements. Ray Campbell of Knob Noster, Mo., has been driving with Transport America since April 1996. He and his wife have one child and one grandchild. James Woolard, of Wheatland, Iowa, has been with the company since November 1994. He has also reached another milestone in his life by celebrating 40 years of marriage to his wife in January. Together, they have two children and three grandchildren.

Freymiller Wins Safety Awards
Freymiller of Oklahoma City received first place for Outstanding Achievement in Highway Safety, presented by the Oklahoma Trucking Association and Great West Casualty. Also included in the awards was Bruce Ross, who received his 2 million accident-free miles driving award, and Duane Mills, who received his million accident-free miles driving award.

Horizon Lines Receives Lowe’s Top Carrier Award
Horizon Lines has been awarded the 2008 Platinum Carrier Award by home improvement retailer Lowe’s Companies Inc., based in Mooresville, N.C.
Lowe’s presented the Platinum Carrier Award, the company’s highest honor for transportation providers, to Horizon Lines for providing 100-percent on-time service. This recognition marks the third consecutive year Horizon Lines has received the Platinum Carrier Award.

Con-way Recognizes Newest 2 Million Miler
Con-way recognizes Jim Slaaen, a driver sales representative, for safely driving 2 million miles between 1983 and 2009; he reached the mark on Feb. 7. Slaaen has been a professional truck driver for 35 years and was one of Con-way Freight’s original employees at its 1983 founding. He has received an eight-year safe driving award from the Wisconsin Motor Carriers President’s Safe Driver Club, of which he is a member.

Hill Bros. Named Carrier of the Year
Hill Bros. Transportation has been named the ConAgra Foods 2008 Temperature Carrier of the Year. Mike Liebherr, vice president for transportation for ConAgra, says, “Hill Bros.’ great service and focus on helping ConAgra Foods take advantage of supply chain opportunities are what make Hill Bros. such a good partner. We appreciate their commitment to excellence and total team approach.”

Prime picks top driver
Prime Inc. announces Harvey Williams as Missouri’s 2009 Driver of the Year. An independent contractor in the refrigerated division, Harvey drives team with his wife Sue. A career driver, Harvey has driven more than 6 million miles accident-free. Harvey attributes his success to his partnership with his wife of 43 years. He has been with Prime for nearly 11 years.

Schneider Wins Excellence Award
Schneider National is among an elite group of 61 suppliers (out of an 80,000-strong network) to receive top honors at the Procter & Gamble supplier conference in mid-October in Cincinnati. Schneider received P&G’s inaugural Excellence Award for consistently providing a high level of service to the multinational manufacturer. P & G was Schneider’s first interstate client and has been a customer for 50 years.