'Doc Holliday' Peterbilt 379 wins top honors at SuperRigs

user-gravatar Headshot
Truett Novosad's 'Doc Holliday'
For winning Best of Show with their "Doc Holliday" 2007 Peterbilt 379, Truett and Crystal Novosad were awarded $10,000 from Shell Rotella. In addition, the truck won the Steve Sturgess Best Theme award for its “Doc Holiday” theme.
Photos by Matt Cole unless otherwise noted

Truett and Crystal Novosad, owners of Caldwell, Texas-based Equipment Express, captured Best of Show honors at the 41st annual Shell Rotella SuperRigs working truck show with their 2007 Peterbilt 379 EXHD. SuperRigs was held June 8-10 in Gillette, Wyoming.

Mark and Payton Aragon's 2003 Peterbilt 379Mark and Payton Aragon, from LaSalle, Colorado, won first runner-up in Best of Show and $4,000 from Shell Rotella for their 2003 Peterbilt 379 EXHD, "Slammed Distraction."

Ben Overton's 2020 Kenworth W900Jade Transport's Ben Overton of Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada, was awarded Best of Show second runner-up for his 2020 Kenworth W900.Shell RotellaAdditional highlights of the weekend included the SuperRigs truck parade through downtown Gillette, a truck lights contest and drone light show sponsored by Advance Auto Parts. There was additional entertainment throughout the three-day event.

Additional first place winners included:

  • Cody Davis from Cokeville, Wyoming, in the Tractor-Trailer Division and Best Lights for his 2022 Kenworth W900L
  • Patrick Lahr from Denison, Iowa, in the Tractor Division with a 2022 Peterbilt 389
  • Clyde Green from Cheyenne, Wyoming won the Classic Division with his 1982 Kenworth W900A

Cody Davis' 2022 Kenworth W900Cody Davis also won the People’s Choice Award, being selected virtually with voting taking place online. This year, $1 for every People’s Choice vote tallied Shell Rotella donated to the St. Christopher Truckers Relief Fund.

Owner-operators from across the United States and Canada competed for cash and prizes valued at approximately $25,000. All winners also received a case of Shell Rotella T5 10W-30 Synthetic Blend engine oil and MyMilesMatter award points. Twelve drivers were also selected to have their truck featured in the 2024 Shell Rotella SuperRigs calendar. 

Complete 2023 Shell Rotella SuperRigs Results

Best of Show

Truett and Crystal Novosad, College Station, Texas -- 2007 Peterbilt 379

Best of Show 1st Runner Up

Mark Aragon, Lasalle, Colorado -- 2003 Peterbilt 379 EXHD

Best of Show 2nd Runner Up

Ben Overton, Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada -- 2020 Kenworth W900

Non-Working/Show Truck

Truett & Crystal Novosad, College Station, Texas -- 1984 Peterbilt 359

Classic Division

1st: Clyde Green, Cheyenne, Wyoming -- 1982 Kenworth W900A

J.R. Schleuger's 1984 Kenworth W900B2nd: J.R. Schleuger, Britt, Iowa -- 1984 Kenworth W900B

Daniel and Phyllis Snow's 1996 Freightliner XL3rd: Daniel & Phyllis Snow, Harrison, Arkansas -- 1996 Freightliner Classic XL

Working Truck -- Limited Mileage

Rob Harris' 2022 Kenworth W900L1st: Dennis "Rob" Harris, Peshtigo, Wisconsin -- 2022 Kenworth W900

Barry Kasdorf's 2023 Peterbilt 389X2nd: Barry Kasdorf, Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada -- 2023 Peterbilt 389X

Partner Insights
Information to advance your business from industry suppliers
The ALL NEW Rand Tablet
Presented by Rand McNally

3rd: John Fabris, Belle Fourche, South Dakota -- 2018 Kenworth T880

Tractor Division

1st: Patrick Lahr, Denison, Iowa -- 2022 Peterbilt 389

Truett Novosad's 'Troublemaker' 2007 Peterbilt 3792nd: Truett Novosad, College Station, Texas -- 2007 Peterbilt 379

3rd: Richard Rukstalis, Morton, Illinois -- 2018 Kenworth T680

Tractor-Trailer Division

1st: Cody Davis, Cokeville, Wyoming -- 2022 Kenworth W900L

Jake Bast's 2001 Peterbilt 3792nd: Jake Bast, Shoshone, Idaho -- 2001 Peterbilt 379

Nichole 'Nikki' Cheek's 2008 Peterbilt 3893rd: Nichole "Nikki" Cheek, Rozet, Wyoming -- 2008 Peterbilt 389

Best Engine

Engine of Ben Overton's 2022 Kenworth W900Ben Overton, Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada -- 2022 Kenworth W900Shell Rotella

Best Chrome

Cody Davis, Cokeville, Wyoming -- 2022 Kenworth W900L

Steve Sturgess Best Theme Award

Truett & Crystal Novosad, College Station, Texas -- 2007 Peterbilt 379

Best Interior

Richard Rukstalis, Morton, Illinois -- 2018 Kenworth T680

Best Lights

Cody Davis, Cokeville, Wyoming -- 2022 Kenworth W900L

People’s Choice

Cody Davis, Cokeville, Wyoming -- 2022 Kenworth W900L

Showcase your workhorse
Add a photo of your rig to our Reader Rigs collection to share it with your peers and the world. Tell us the story behind the truck and your business to help build its story.
Submit Your Rig
Reader Rig Submission