Fleet Insider

September drivers of the month

Several Crete Carrier Corp. drivers were honored as September Drivers of the Month: These include: William Speigel, Cheyenne, Wyo., Crete Carrier; John Tekuelve, Columbus, Ohio, Crete; Joe Snyder, Columbus, Ohio, Shaffer Trucking; Lynn Hemmert, Council Bluffs, Iowa, Shaffer; Joseph Kriel, DeLand, Fla., Crete; Sidney Evans, DeLand, Fla., Shaffer; Harold Price, Greensboro, N.C., Crete; Franck Ciotkowski, Greensboro, N.C., Shaffer; Gene Dunfee, Indianapolis, Crete; ­Roxeanna Blair, Kansas City, Mo., Crete; Eric Whiting, Knoxville, Tenn., Crete; Charles Chappell, Lincoln, Neb., Crete; William Pettus, Macungie, Pa., Crete; Ray Smith, Marietta, Ga., Crete; Tony Rush, Marietta, Ga., Shaffer; Darnell Ward, New Kingstown, Pa., Crete; David Katz New Kingstown, Pa., Shaffer; David Pettit, Omaha, Hunt Transportation; David Gray, Ottawa, Ill., Crete; Garrett Poindexter, Phoenix, Crete; Mark Hunt, Salt Lake City, Crete; Terri Parker, Spartanburg, S.C., Crete; Terry Roberts, Tifton, Ga., Crete; Friday Ofor, Wilmer, Texas, Crete; John Spencer, Wilmer, Texas, Shaffer.

Old Dominion opens new facility

Old Dominion Freight Line Inc.’s newest service center in Canton, Ohio, is slated to be the company’s first Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design certified facility in its nationwide network. The 70-door facility, Old Dominion’s 216th, located at 3970 Commerce St. SW, will employ 40 people.

Owens Corning honors Crete Carrier

The Owens Corning Global Logistics team recognized Crete Carrier for superior on-time performance. Crete Carrier was among a select group of carriers that Owens Corning honored. This is the fourth year in a row that Crete has been recognized for this award.

Con-way million-mile drivers

For June and July, Con-way Truckload honored the following drivers for driving 1 million miles safely: Juan Curioso, Stephen Donoway, Linda Goff, Alan Hayes, Michael Hunt, Arlie Marsh, John Newkirk, Willie Nowden, Saul Parra, Michael Richey, George Spicer and Marcus Statton. The fleet’s June and July Drivers of the Month are Daniel Baez; Gary and Nora Bulen; William Coffman; Tim Hicks; Jerry Miller; and team drivers Joseph Keyman and Jhyn-Yin Chang, Robert and Vickie River, and Thomas and Joan Walter.