News from the fleets

Yellow roadway changes name
Yellow Roadway is starting 2006 with a new name. The fleet, based in Overland Park, Kan., is now known as YRC Worldwide.

The name change comes after Yellow acquired Roadway in 2003 and USF in 2005, increasing its worldwide reach. Additional units within the company include Yellow Transportation, Roadway Express, Reimer Express, USF Holland, USF Reddaway, USF Bestway, USF Glen Moore, New Penn Motor Express and Meridian IQ. It employs 70,000 people.

The company also changed its Nasdaq stock market ticker symbol to YRCW.

Marten Transport’s October Drivers of the Month are John Brock, Jim Brunetti, Bernard Bullock, Daniel Dorough, Raphael Duzant, Rick Eaton, Robert Home, Kevin Howard, Mark Hrynyk, Samuel Jones, Larry and Linda Jernigan, Gwen LaDuke, Robert Lawler, Willie Love, Larry McDonough, Linda Menendez, David Morris, Guy Noland, Carl Oehler, Tina Oliver, Steven Pilkington, Jerry Reed, Josue Rendon, Leonard Schultz, Eldon Stoltenberg, Brian Strupith, Clyde Thompson Jr., Dick Thundereagle, Louis Vallieres, Stephen Watts, Phillip Williams and David Zecha.

Hornady Transportation has launched a new compensation package, paying 70 percent of an owner-operator’s gross freight revenue and all fuel surcharges.

Independent drivers also could be paid an additional 4 percent on their weekly adjusted freight revenues, excluding all fuel surcharges and accessorial charges, if they generate more than $2,400 in revenue.

Barr-Nunn Transportation says it will begin paying company drivers and owner-operators practical miles effective May 1. The company says the new program will not match exact miles driven, but will be closer to the Rand McNally Shortest pay system.

Additionally, the fleet is increasing its appreciation bonus to $600, paid every 60,000 miles. Drivers paid weekly will receive the $600 on their employment anniversary date.
Effective Feb. 10, over-the-road drivers with six or fewer years of experience will receive 40 cents per mile in line-haul pay. Drivers with at least seven years’ experience will see their pay increase to 41 cents per mile.

Scotts Miracle-Gro presented awards to Overnite Transportation.

The Distribution Award recognizes service to Scotts’ customer returns program. The Prestige Award recognizes the best carriers serving Scotts’ mixing plant and warehouses.

MELTON TRUCK LINES named 10 Ambassadors of the Road in 2005, honoring drivers who hauled more than 1 million miles with the company: Albert Adams, Michael Bice, Barry Evans, Evert Harrell, Craig McReynolds, Ken Phillips, Darrell Queen, James Riddlebaugh, Gerald Roton and Paul Schneider.

CALARK INTERNATIONAL’S 2005 Drivers of the Year are Mary and Joe Hester. The Cullman, Ala., couple were also the 2004 Arkansas Truck Drivers of the Year.

THE MIDNIGHT TRUCKING RADIO NETWORK inducted eight members in December into its Million Mile Club, sponsored by Chevron Delo: James Andrews, James Cory, Jeff Diehl, Doug Dittmer, Joe Elsten, Candido Garcia Jr., Roger Larkins and Al Schellenberg.

WHEATON WORLD WIDE MOVING named 2005 Drivers of the Year: Otis Green, Terry Marion, Ken Seibert, Paul Seiffert.

The Business Manual for Owner-Operators
Overdrive editors and ATBS present the industry’s best manual for prospective and committed owner-operators. You’ll find exceptional depth on many issues in the 2022 edition of Partners in Business.
Partners in Business Issue Cover