Safety award deadline July 22

Updated Jul 6, 2010

The deadline to nominate an agency, person or jurisdiction for the Commercial Vehicle Safety Award is July 22

The American Association of Motor Vehicle Administrators and the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration created this award, administered by IRP Inc. It recognizes individuals, states and agencies with creative programs that improved truck safety.

The award’s intent is to recognize the biggest contributors to reducing motor vehicle fatalities or crashes and those pivotal in driver improvement. Potential nominees may be a state agency, CDL tester, law enforcement officer or agency or motor vehicle administration personnel. Award criteria extends beyond the traditional Motor Carrier Safety Assistance Program.

The winner will be recognized at the Annual International Conference of the AAMVA in St. John, New Brunswick,  in August.  The 2009 winner was the Tennessee State Highway Patrol.

More information, including nomination forms, is available at

Showcase your workhorse
Add a photo of your rig to our Reader Rigs collection to share it with your peers and the world. Tell us the story behind the truck and your business to help build its story.
Submit Your Rig
Reader Rig Submission