Road Team finalists named

Thirty-four truckers are finalists in the American Trucking Associations’ selection process to become 2011-2012 America’s Road Team Captains.

The association created the group in 1986 to positively represent the trucking industry. Nominees must be employed or leased to ATA member companies. The program is sponsored by Volvo Trucks North America.

During Jan. 9-11, judges will rate finalists on areas including trucking knowledge, dedication to safety and their driving records. The captains will then receive Road Team blazers and spend the next two years promoting trucking.

The names, hometowns and companies of the finalists are:

  • Julian F. Alexander; Chicago Heights, Ill.; YRC
  • Willie Atkinson; Florence, S.C.; Con-way Freight
  • Gary G. Babbitt; Irving, Texas; Central Freight Lines
  • Raleigh Barber; Atlanta; Con-way Freight
  • Joe Allen Boyd; Mount Crawford, Va.; Wal-Mart Transportation
  • David Boyer; Wytheville, Va.; ABF Freight System.
  • Randall Dee Briggs; West Valley City, Utah; YRC
  • Danny Fuller; Jonesboro, Ark.; Con-way Freight
  • Ronald Carl Fuller; Irving, Texas; Central Freight Lines
  • Aaron R. Garvey; Glendale, Ore.; A&M Transport
  • Earl Wayne Harnage; Tampa, Fla.; Con-way Freight
  • Albert Hocket; Rolla, Mo.; Con-way Freight
  • Richard W. Kennedy; Charlotte, N.C.; Schneider National
  • David Kight; Jacksonville, Fla.; Publix Supermarkets
  • Gary R. Konen; Beaver Dam, Wis.; Wal-Mart Transportation
  • Samuel Douglas; Lee Greensboro, N.C.; Old Dominion Freight Line
  • Alphonso Lewis; Montgomery, Ala.; YRC
  • Kenny Lowry; Laurens, S.C.; Wal-Mart Transportation
  • Dennis Martin; Gaffney, S.C.; UPS Freight
  • Nate McCarty; Denver, Colo.; ABF Freight System
  • Tim McElwaney; Conley, Ga.; ABF Freight System
  • Chad Miller; Sauk Village, Ill.; ABF Freight System
  • John “J.C.” Miller; Kernersville, N.C.; YRC
  • Roger L. Nicholson; Savannah, Ga.; UPS Freight
  • J.W. Ray; Omaha, Neb.; Werner Enterprises
  • Dion Saiz; Albuquerque, N.M.; FedEx Freight
  • Jeffrey Wade; Summerville, S.C.; Southeastern Freight Lines
  • Brooks Washburn; Albuquerque, N.M.; FedEx Freight
  • Clarence Weeks; Ocala, Fla.; AAA Cooper Transportation
  • Robert L. Weller; New Market, Md.; Hahn Transportation
  • Dale M. Williams; Bessemer, Ala.; Trimac Transportation South
  • Gary Augusta Wilson; Halenthorpe, Md.; FedEx Ground
  • Kerry M. Wilson; Hickory, N.C.; UPS Freight
  • Scott Woodrome; Dayton, Ohio; FedEx National