Fleet Focus

Moving association names 2011 award winners

Atlas Van Lines agent DMS Moving Systems, based in Canton, Mich., received the 2011 Moving and Storage Agent of the Year Service Excellence Award from the American Moving & Storage Association. The honor reflects commitment to excellent customer service. It is presented to agents nominated by their affiliated van line based on customer surveys and van line experience.

New York-based Movage Moving & Storage won the association’s 2011 Enterprise Award, given to an outstanding independent mover with less than $3 million in annual gross revenues and fewer than 25 employees. JK Moving Services, based in Sterling, Va., won the moving association’s 2011 Independent Mover of the Year Award.



Decker Truck Line, based in Fort Dodge, Iowa, named Warren Erxleben its 2011 Flatbed Driver of the Year and Eric Jensvold the 2011 Reefer-Van Driver of the Year. The fleet honored Doug Blair, Gary Geisinger and John McCleney for 2 million safe miles, and Kirk Thygesen and Steve Swenson, in the flatbed and reefer divisions, respectively, as December Drivers of the Month… Refrigerated carrier Freymiller, based in Oklahoma City, honored Kirk Meins for driving 2 million miles safely and Brenda Adcock, John Adcock, Ben Carroll, Steven Fear and Kenneth Wachter for logging 1 million miles safely.


American Central Transport, based in Liberty, Mo., raised the pay for independent contractors who have their hazardous material endorsement. Contractors with hazmat endorsements will be paid $1 per loaded mile on every load, including non-hazmat loads.


Dallas-based holding company Walden Smokey Point purchased West Fargo, N.D.-based E.W. Wylie, which is now part of flatbed and heavy-haul provider Smokey Point Distributing, based in the Pacific Northwest. E.W. Wylie will remain in West Fargo.