Fleet Insider

ATS Driver Finishes First
Anderson Trucking Service congratulates driver David Grim, who took first place in the Minnesota Truck Driving Championships June 6-8. Grim came to ATS as a company driver in April 2005 and became an owner-operator in 2007.

“I am extremely proud to have David Grim and the entire ATS Roadeo Team represent ATS in this annual competition,” said President and CEO Rollie Anderson. “They are a fine group of drivers who exemplify the best in their industry.”

Other team members were Alex Aguerro, Mike McKee and Chris McGee. ATS offers special thanks to retired driver Bill “Duck” Wang for coaching this year’s team.

STI Million Mile Safe Drivers
STI recently announced its 2007 Million Mile Safe Driving Winners, presented to drivers who achieve more than 1 million consecutive miles accident free.

“STI is pleased to recognize this group of drivers on achieving a great milestone. Their loyalty to STI and dedication to safety are to be highly commended,” said Rob Shearer, president and CEO of STI.

Three Million Miles Safe Driving: Nick Markopoulos

Two Million Miles Safe Driving: Chong Marlow

One Million Miles Safe Driving: Kenneth Akins, Vance Batson, David Costilow, Linda Costilow, Jeff Ellenberger, Carlos Lira, Jerry Minick, Jim Smith, Matthew Wonders

Marten Transport Drivers of the Month
Marten Transport has announced its May and April 2008 Drivers of the Month.

May Drivers of the Month are: Brian and Rita Lynn Lorah, Robert Granger, Charles Mock, Steve Blackford, Aurelio Robles, James Haezebrouck, Michael Buck, Delmar Eldred, Randy Lohman, Freddie Chandler, Candy Bass, Jonas Mitchell, Larry Bailey, Omar Lopez, Wayne Brazle, Grover Sparkman, Floyd P. Shackelford, Chris Calloway, Stephen Glass, Jeff Morgan, Phil Owens, Antonio Bowman, Raymond Lockett, Andrew Lane, David Nimblett, Phil Tackett, Willie Billups, Rickey Johnson, Nels Christenson, John Bourland, Douglas George, Kip Kridler, Jeffery Sheets, David Torres, Tahir Khan and Victor Harper.

April Drivers of the Month are: Larry and Linda Jemigan, Laura Michaels, Michele McClellan, Jerald Johnston, Donald Sellner, David Kaile, Glynn Hintze, William Munn, Billy Hooper, Stephen Kehoe, Elmer Cox, John Sloboda Jr., Ed Radley, Andrew Bean, Shawn Broyles, Larry Anderson, Donna Meyer, Clinton Foley, Ray Shampo, Jimmy Tice, Mark Bowron, James Logsdon, Fred Turlington, Larry Rohrbacher, Martin Fields, Jake Brown Jr., William Wentz, Mark Lindquist, Gary Singleton and Blaine Joost.

Partner Insights
Information to advance your business from industry suppliers

To qualify for the award, drivers must be accident free and meet a minimum of 10,500 miles for the month and also must have 100 percent on-time deliveries.

Safety Top Dog Award
Veteran truck driver Jerry Van Emmerik has won the 2007-08 Safety Top Dog Award, sponsored by The TLC Cos. Van Emmerik, who drives approximately 125,000 miles annually, started at Lake Valley Trucking in Wheaton, Minn., in May 1997. He began driving over-the-road in 1978, and his career has spanned more than 30 years.

NSC Recognizes 4-Million-Miler
The National Safety Council awarded its 4 Million Mile Safety Award to Jerry Miller. The award is given to professional drivers with more than 4 million miles of accident-free driving. Miller has operated his own truck under contract with Dart Transit Company in Eagan, Minn., for 20 years.

“I can not think of a more reliable contractor than Jerry Miller,” said Troy Peterson, Miller’s fleet manager. “He keeps his equipment well-maintained and therefore does not have issues with breakdowns. His on-time service record is impeccable, and he represents Dart very well.”

Daily Express Empty Mile Surcharge Assistance
Daily Express has a new Empty Mile Fuel Surcharge Assistance program for its owner-operators. This new program, aimed to help compensate owner-operators on all of their empty miles, follows in the footsteps of the company’s Premium Loaded Mile Surcharge.

Based on the type of trailer being used, the program will pay a variable rate from 8 to 49 cents per mile for empty miles with few exceptions (assuming fuel at $4.65/gallon). Daily Express will pay 100 percent of the empty mile fuel surcharge to the owner-operator
Daily Express’ Premium Loaded Mile Surcharge currently is based on the assumption that diesel fuel should cost no more than $1.10 per gallon, with 1 cent per loaded mile paid to the owner-operator for every 5 cents fuel costs above that limit.

The company also says it pays 1.5 to three times above the regular surcharge for extreme overweight loads that require additional fuel consumption.

Averitt Honors Drivers for 20 Years
Averitt Express recently honored 14 drivers for 20 years of safe driving with the company. The honorees were Clarence Brooks of Blountsville, Ala.; Randy Cox of Burlington, Ky.; Donald Harned of Hopkinsville, Ky.; Jack Harris of London, Ky.; Ron Holsclaw of Gray, Tenn.; John Hopper of Olive Branch, Miss.; Bennie Johnson of Livingston, Tenn.; David Kenyon of Chattanooga, Tenn.; Kenneth Rogers of Trenton, Ga.; Al Sauls of Boaz, Ala.; Cliff Smith of Guild, Tenn.; John Vinyard of Gadsden, Ala.; Larry Williams of Morgantown, Ky.; and Martin Wilson of Trezevant, Tenn.

Ruan Presents Million Mile Award
Ruan Transport Corporation recently honored driver John Gorman, who received the Ruan Million Mile Safety Award, recognizing his 1 million miles of accident-free driving for Ruan.

Dave Cochran, Gorman’s terminal manager, selected him to receive this prestigious award. “John is a very professional and conscientious driver, who always takes care of the equipment and performs to the highest standards. He is looked upon by his peers as one that will always assist in any way he can – whether it is advice, helping to load or unload, or even just moral support,” Cochran said of Gorman, who has dedicated 10 years driving for Ruan.

A former Ruan Red R award recipient, Gorman has also received numerous annual safety awards with Ruan and two safe driving awards with Knight Transportation.

Con-way April/May Drivers of the Month
Con-way Truckload recently announced its monthly driver award recipients for April and May 2008.

  • Company driver of the month, April: Catherine Anderson of Bonne Terre, Mo.
  • Company team of the month, April: Richard Dyer and Richard Dyer II of Laredo, Texas.
  • Contractor driver of the month, April: Ricky Hilaire of Alamogordo, N.M.
  • Contractor team of the month, April: Owner-operators Robert Cuthbertson and Sheri McPhee of Stewart, Tenn.
  • Company team of the month, May: James and Charlene Suel of Louisville, Ky.
  • Contractor driver of the month, May: Jim Corey of Joplin, Mo.
  • Contractor team of the month, May: Owner-operators Sokphat Sao and Mom Prom of Lexington, N.C.

Con-way Freight has announced that one of its Atlanta-based drivers has been named 2008 Driver of the Year by the Georgia Motor Trucking Association. John Dillon was chosen for the honor for his record of safe, courteous driving.

“This prestigious award is a great honor, and I commend John Dillon on earning it,” said Con-way Freight President John G. Labrie. “John’s exemplary record over 18 years on the road for Con-way Freight shows that he is truly committed to safety, which is one of our core values.”

Dillon has worked as a professional truck driver for 23 years.

Showcase your workhorse
Add a photo of your rig to our Reader Rigs collection to share it with your peers and the world. Tell us the story behind the truck and your business to help build its story.
Submit Your Rig
Reader Rig Submission