DOT announces members of anti-human trafficking committee

U.S. Department of Transportation Secretary Elaine L. Chao has announced the 15 members of the DOT’s Advisory Committee on Human Trafficking, as required by the Combatting Human Trafficking in Commercial Vehicles Act signed by President Donald Trump earlier this year.

The committee is expected to submit recommendations to Chao on how to better identify and report human trafficking, administrative or legislative changes to use programs and other resources to combat human trafficking, and research-based best practices for how state and local transportation organizations can provide training materials and strategies for identifying human trafficking victims.

The members of the committee include:

  • Chairperson: Catherine Todd Bailey, former U.S. Ambassador to Latvia
  • Vice Chairperson: Linda Burtwistle, president and COO of Coach USA, board member at American Bus Association
  • Paula Anderson, president and CEO of Port Tampa Bay
  • Nicole Clifton, vice president of global public affairs for United Parcel Service
  • Sherri Garner Brumbaugh, president and CEO of Garner Transportation Group, vice-chair of American Trucking Associations
  • Michelle Guelbart, director of private sector engagement for EPAT-USA
  • Greg Hynes, alternate national legislative director of International Association of Sheet Metal, Air, Rail, and Transportation Workers (SMART-TD)
  • Kristen Joyner, executive director of South West Transit Association
  • Loretta Kennedy, director of domestic operations and investigations for JetBlue Airways
  • Laura J. Lederer, president of Global Centurion
  • David Lorenzen, chief of Iowa motor vehicle enforcement for Iowa DOT
  • Kendis Paris, executive director of Truckers Against Trafficking
  • Mi Yung Park, government relations director for A21
  • Eric Smith, vice president and CCO of Henry Marine Industries
  • Lynn Thoman, adjunct professor of international and public affairs at Columbia University