Big Rig Build-Off, category first places, People's Choice: Big winners at MATS

user-gravatar Headshot
Davis Bros.' 2024 Peterbilt 389
Davis Brothers Designs' 2024 Peterbilt 389 custom build was crowned the winner of the 2024 MATS Big Rig Build-Off.

The PKY Truck Beauty Championship at the Mid-America Trucking Show drew to a close Saturday morning at the Kentucky Expo Center in Louisville, Kentucky, with Davis Brothers Designs being named the winner of the Big Rig Build-Off, along with five Best of Show winners, the People's Choice winner and more.

The invitation-only Big Rig Build-Off was a competition among four truck builders, billed by show organizers as a “special ‘elite builders only’ class.” Three of the four builders invited to compete -- Adam Johnson with Johnson Hill Customs and K&D Transport; Dustin Dickerson with Dickerson Custom Trucks; and Brian and Thomas Davis with Davis Brothers Designs -- had their custom builds up for the award. The fourth builder, Troy Massey with Massey Motor Freight, did not have his build completed in time for the show. 

The Best of Show, People's Choice, Troy "The Legend" Huddleston Award, and National Association of Show Trucks (NAST) winners can be seen below. Stay tuned to Overdrive for full show results in the coming days with winners from all categories.

People's Choice

Jeff Hoker's 2023 Peterbilt 389/2023 Great Dane vanJeff Hoker's 2023 Peterbilt 389 and 2023 Great Dane van

Working Truck -- Bobtail

Tim Cody Jr.'s 2018 Peterbilt 389Tim Cody Jr.'s 2018 Peterbilt 389

Working Truck -- Combo

Cody Davis' 2022 Kenworth W900L and 2023 MerrittCody Davis' 2022 Kenworth W900L and 2023 Merritt livestock trailer

Limited Mileage -- Bobtail with Miles 

Fred Rethwisch's 1986 International 9670Fred Rethwisch's 1986 International 9670

Limited Mileage -- Bobtail with No Miles

Jacob Bonham's 2022 Peterbilt 389Jacob Bonham, showing Massey Motor Freight's 2022 Peterbilt 389, "Dust n' the Wind"

Limited Mileage -- Combo

Troy Massey's 2005 Peterbilt 379 and 2021 Galyean tankerTroy Massey's 2005 Peterbilt 379 and 2021 Galyean tanker

Troy “The Legend” Huddleston Award, presented by RoadWorks

Andrew Ditz's 1959 Peterbilt 351Andrew Ditz's 1959 Peterbilt 351

NAST Bobtail

Austin Gottman's 2024 Peterbilt 389Austin Gottman's 2024 Peterbilt 389

NAST Combo

Dane Hartman's 2024 Peterbilt 389/2024 Wilson PacesetterDane Hartman's 2024 Peterbilt 389 and 2024 Wilson Pacesetter