November 2002


Three Landstar subsidiaries – Logistics, Ranger and Inway – earned Logistics Management & Distribution Report’s 2002 Quest for Quality Awards. Readers ranked carriers inon-time performance, value, information technology, customer service, and equipment and operations.

Landstar is also the first company to earn the Logistics Provider of the Year Award from the Gift Wrap Company, the world’s largest manufacturer of gift wrap supplies.


ABF driver Scott Harris, an ABF city driver in Albany, N.Y., has been selected as the 2002 National Driver of the Year by the American Trucking Associations. Harris is the second ABF driver to receive the honor in three years. He has driven more than 17 years without an accident.

Star Transportation, based in Nashville, Tenn., honored 30 drivers in August for safe driving: Herb Sanders, William Davis, Ricky Tidwell, Morrell Driggers, Ron Copeland, Keith Napier, Robert Horn, Raymond Burse, Ricky Stanley, Donald Coffey, David Jeter, Michael Thomas, Terry Gardner, John Elliot, Eddie Moore, David Allman, Kenneth Canty, Cliff Marsh, Larry Lesueur, John Todd, Isreal Adams, Craig Doyle, Gavin Hibler, Michael Hull, Elijah Bradley, Robert Baugher, Richard Hardin, Thomas Bright, Alton Borden and Andrew Reeves.