News From The Fleets


FedEx Freight driver Mark Dietsche of Salem, Ore., outmaneuvered 360 drivers to become the 2003 National Truck Driving Grand Champion.

The contestants, who were the state champions in nine truck categories from 50 states, competed in the National Truck Driving Championships in Columbus, Ohio. The annual event is sponsored by the American Trucking Associations.

The competition included an alley dock, a rear line stop, a side park, a scales stop, a right turn, a front line stop and straight line driving through a diminishing clearance.

Dietsche, who also won the individual Straight Truck competition, succeeds Yellow Transportation driver James March of Pennsylvania as the Grand Champion.

The winners in the other categories were:
Auto Transporter: Thomas Snider, Ohio
Five-Axle: Scott Stoudnour, Jevic Transportation, Pennsylvania
Flatbed: Jim Bryan, FedEx Freight, California
Four-Axle: Dale Duncan, Con-Way Western Express, California
Five-Axle Sleeper: Mark Taylor, Wal-Mart, California
Tank Truck: Weldon Runnels, Wal-Mart, Colorado
Three-Axle: Greg Nauertz, Roadway Express, Arizona
Twins: Andy Oder, FedEx Freight, Kentucky

Pennsylvania’s driver delegation brought home the team trophy as the state with the highest scores and final placements.


DuPont Logistics presented its annual Carrier of the Year awards to Trans Gulf Transportation of LaPorte, Texas, and Adams Motor Express of Carnesville, Ga., for their service to DuPont business units.

Another 23 carriers were honored for service: A. Duie Pyle Inc., Averitt Express, Conway Western, Estes Express Lines, Pitt-Ohio Express, USF Red Star, USF Reddaway, USF Holland, Ezzell Trucking, G&P Trucking Co., First Express, Regional Integrated Logistics, Sharkey Transportation, Star Transportation, BC Transportation, Bridge Terminal Transport, Container Port Group, Palletized Trucking, The Hub Group, Sardo and Sons, Edward M. Rude Carrier Corp., NuWay Co. and Land Transportation.


Partner Insights
Information to advance your business from industry suppliers
The ALL NEW Rand Tablet
Presented by Rand McNally

Schneider National Expedited, a division of Schneider National, has been named the first recipient of the Limited Brands, Logistics Services Truckload Carrier of the Year award.


Atlas Van Lines won an award for the category of household goods carriers in the 20th annual Quest for Quality survey, conducted by Logistics Management and Distribution Report. This is the sixth consecutive year for Atlas to receive the award.


TLC Drivers of the Month for August 2003 were: Jeff Smith, Maag Transport, Eagle, Mich.; Michael Anderson, Meca Inc., Oland Park, Ill.; Dennis Spregue, Meca Inc., Oland Park, Ill.; Dean Kohout, Molus Trucking, Bowlus, Minn.; Martin Moren, Moren Trucking, Pierz, Minn.; Stanley Ward, MPS Enterprises, Champaign, Ill.; Tim Rutledge, Myerscough Trucking, Seymour, Ill.; and Harvey Garza, Newton Trucking, Hereford, Texas.

BARR-NUNN TRANSPORTATION honored three drivers who reached 1 million safe miles: Bob Smith, Gary Hurley and Jim Burns. Barr-Nunn also recognized Gary Coe, who retired from his irregular route after more than 10 years with the company in which he logged more than 1 million miles of safe driving.

PASCHALL TRUCK LINES named Linda Young Company Driver of the Month for April.

CONTRACT FREIGHTERS INC. named Kenneth Bachman of St. Joe, Mo., Company Driver of the Month for June. DeVerne Hunt and Carole Smith of Joplin, Mo., were named Company Team Drivers of the Month. Contractor of the Month was Kenny Petrey. Contractor Team of the Month went to John and Sherry Hufford of Bell, Fla.

MELTON TRUCK LINES in Tulsa, Okla., named Willie Lyons May Driver of the Month.

Showcase your workhorse
Add a photo of your rig to our Reader Rigs collection to share it with your peers and the world. Tell us the story behind the truck and your business to help build its story.
Submit Your Rig
Reader Rig Submission