News From the Fleets

Baylor Trucking has implemented a new pay package for OTR and regional drivers
that can increase pay by as much as 15 percent.

Owner-operator solo pay increased from 88 cents to 90 cents per mile before additional reimbursements. Baylor will also pay an additional 6 cents or 10 cents per mile for deliveries into certain Eastern states.

National Carriers now offers temperature-controlled expedited services to 48 states. NEEDS – National’s Elite Expedited Delivery Service – will use team drivers and relays.

AAA Cooper Transportation opened five new Texas terminals in El Paso, Abilene, Lubbock, Odessa/Midland and Amarillo. AAA Cooper now has 15 terminals in Texas and more than 80 terminals total.

Covenant Transport raised pay for experienced solo drivers to 48 cents per mile, plus a safety bonus. Team drivers can earn 56 cents per mile plus a safety bonus.

Transport America is raising owner-operator pay this month by 2 cents per mile, to 90 cents. Owner-operators also receive fuel surcharges and other bonuses.


PRO FLEET TRANSPORT named William Gardner 2004 Driver of the Year. He received an embroidered leather jacket, a $500 savings bond, a plaque and “Driver of the Year” lettering for his tractor.

Eighty-seven USF REDDAWAY drivers have reached 1 million consecutive miles without a preventable accident. Each will receive a hat and a choice of a ring or a watch.

Joe Sackville of Norfolk, Neb., won first place in the SMITHWAY MOTOR XPRESS Driver Referral Contest. Second place went to Gale Atchison of Medicine Lodge, Kan., and third place went to Roger Downey of Dayton, Ohio. The winners receive one-year raises: first place, 5 cents per mile; second place, 3 cents per mile; third place, 2 cents per mile.

Greg Puryear of Milwaukee is SMITH TRANSPORT’S 2004 Driver of the Year. Puryear will receive $1,500, a commemorative leather jacket, gift certificates, pro sports tickets and his choice of a 2005 Freightliner or a 2005 Peterbilt.

Partner Insights
Information to advance your business from industry suppliers
The ALL NEW Rand Tablet
Presented by Rand McNally

OVERNITE TRANSPORTATION has tapped 13 drivers for its 2005 All-Star Road Team: Team Captain John Browder, Bristol, Tenn.; Marty Hogan, Roanoke, Va.; Doug Bonovich, Richmond, Va.; Gary Capps, Salt Lake City; Fred Shaner, Denver; William Montanez, Providence, R.I.; Ron Raney, Des Moines, Iowa; Kimberly Spillers, Memphis, Tenn.; Chris Sutton, Erie, Pa.; Jerold Swain, St. Louis; Jon Dellabona and Jim Varga, both of Toledo, Ohio; and Dennis Worley, Richland, Wash.

PASCHALL TRUCK LINES’ October 2004 Company Driver of the Month is Edmond Goodsell. Jerry Terry was named the October 2004 Owner-Operator of the Month.

FORTUNE XPRESS named Kerry Vaz its 2004 Owner-Operator of the Year and Travis Roles its Owner-Operator of Fourth Quarter 2004.

ANNETT HOLDINGS has inducted into its new Million Mile Club, which honors those with 1 million miles of safe driving: Gary Collins, Dan Erickson, George Davis,Jackie Harrison, Fred Clark, Steve Hennings, Bill Bush, Roger Dannen, Larry Brown, Francis Davis, Lowell Renner, Larry Brown, Darrell Macklin, Dick Wyatt, Russ Allen, Kevin Dinsdale, Dennis Murphy, Les Bohlken, Brad McNally, Larry Stevens, Michael Lavigne, Howard Inselmann, Ronald Dunlap, Bob Emery, Marshall Schales, Alan Wiegard, Matt Bohl, Richard Young, John Sullivan, Carlos Martinez, Jeff Sylvester, Mark Buckman, Thomas Brown, Charles Hunt, Frank Jahnke, Patrick Lucash, Pat Patterson, William Richardson, Thornton Bethune, Donald Engel, Richard Matter, Charles Spurr, Lether Oliver, John Te Poel, Richard Waters, Howard Hendon, William Hepker, Herbert House, Donald Norton, Paul Smith, Louis Steele, Ed Swope, Ronnie Vanwyk, Steve Jacobi, David Lachniet, Jerry Langdon, Jeff Floyd, John Spanidis, James Slinkard, Pete Milkovich, John Wheeler, Mark Coins, Terry Babbs, Larry Clevenger, Mark Enabnit, Garth Thompson and Jerry Thompson.

DART TRANSPORT honored eight drivers for seven accident-free years: Thomas Jackson, Richland Springs, Texas; Noah Crabill, Hernando, Miss.; Floyd Berlin, Longview, Texas; Marion Loviscek, Lawton, Okla.; James Rogers, Dallas; Randy Peterson, Denton, Texas; Henry Randolph, Johnson City, Tenn.; and Alfred Orapubo, Dallas. All are leased to Dart’s Dallas Operating Center in Lancaster, Texas.

Showcase your workhorse
Add a photo of your rig to our Reader Rigs collection to share it with your peers and the world. Tell us the story behind the truck and your business to help build its story.
Submit Your Rig
Reader Rig Submission