Fleet Focus

Crete Carrier wins top Kellogg award

Crete Carrier Corp., based in Lincoln, Neb., has been named the Kellogg Co.’s 2011 National Carrier of the Year. The honor is based on several criteria including on-time delivery, safety and invoice accuracy, among others.


Averitt Express, based in Cookeville, Tenn., won Walmart’s 2011 Regional LTL Carrier of the Year Award…CalArk Trucking, based in Little Rock, Ark., honored the following drivers with 2011 awards: Thomas McCarroll, Driver of the Year; Anthony Carter, Driver of the Year First Runner-up; Johnathan McQueen, Driver of the Year Second Runner-up; Jeffery and Linda Hardy, Company Team for Most Miles Driven; James Kluth, Company Driver for Most Miles Driven; and Santiago Reyes, Best Fuel Mileage…Mabelvale, Ark.-based Central Hauling selected Luis Martinez as its 2011 Driver of the Year…Joplin, Mo.-based Con-way Truckload for 2011 named Brian Glover Company, Driver of the Year; William Coffman, Contractor Driver of the Year; Lee Chapman and Bernard Richter, Company Team Drivers of the Year; Allan and Marian Bruton, Contractor Team of the Year. The carrier also awarded December Driver of the Month to the Brutons and to Charles Spitler, John Newkirk, and team drivers Daniel Schreiner and Mikel Eirman… Decker Truck Line Inc., based in Fort Dodge, Iowa, named Lynn Beckler and Kenneth Pilkenton January Drivers of the Month in the reefer-van and flatbed divisions, respectively.


Milan, Ind.-based Baylor Trucking Inc. company drivers can make up to 44 cents per mile in a fleet-wide pay increase, with a minimum of $1,000 weekly… Maverick Transportation, based in Little Rock, Ark., raised drivers’ tarp pay to $25, double the previous amount, and upped starting flatbed driver pay to a range of 42 cents to 43 cents per mile.