Twelve Drivers Named to America's Road Team

Twelve truck drivers across the country were selected in June to represent the trucking industry as America’s Road Team.

The selections were made at the American Trucking Associations’ headquarters in Alexandria, Va. ATA, which created and manages the group of industry ambassadors, started the Road Team in 1985 to promote safety and improve public perceptions of truckers and the industry.

The 2001-02 Road Team includes: Paul Barnes, Pottle’s Transportation Inc., South Portland, Maine; David Bowers, Yellow Freight Systems, Clarksburg, W.Va.; Michael Bridgman, Ryder System Inc., Pasadena, Md.; James Curtis, ABF Freight Systems Inc., Albuquerque, N.M.; Ina Daly, Con-Way Western Express, Tolleson, Ariz.; Daniel Hiser, ABF Freight Systems Inc., Jacksonville, Ark; Robert Kleinschmidt, Con-Way Central Express, Ann Arbor, Mich; Charles McClellan, M.S. Carriers Inc., Louisville, Ky.; Daniel Poole, The Boeing Company, Renton, Wash.; Howard Shields, Schneider National Inc., Knoxville, Tenn.; Robert St. John, Jevic Transportation Inc., Tabernacle, N.J.; and Jennifer Zinkel, FedEx Ground, Peoria, Ill.

William Wood, a driver with FedEx Ground in Wildomar, Calif., will be an alternate on the team. PACCAR, parent company of Peterbilt and Kenworth, sponsors the group.

The team was whittled down to 36 from more than 100 candidates who were nominated by trucking companies all over the United States.

The 12 captains have more than 20 million accident-free miles between them.