PTL Truck Lines Driver of the Month

Barbara Secrest, Paschall Truck Lines’ Driver of the Month for October 2002.

PTL Driver of the Month
Paschall Truck Lines named Barbara Secrest of Tucson, Ariz., as its Driver of the Month for October 2002. Secrest has driven more than 400,000 Safe Driving Miles. Secrest, who joined PTL more than three years ago, worked as a network administrator for an aerospace company for 17 years before joining the trucking industry.

Driver of the Year
Wisconsin-based deBoer Inc. has named Ben Barger of Warner Robbins, Ga., its first driver of the year.

Since joining the company in March 1996, Barger has driven accident free, earning previous recognition as Driver of the Month for December 2001 and November 1997. To acknowledge his achievement, deBoer has assigned Barger the newest tractor in its fleet, a 2002 International 9200i. This tractor is equipped with a Meritor FreedomLine transmission, a 12-speed fully automated manual with overdrive featuring electric shift and clutch controls (no clutch pedal in this truck) and a 72-inch high rise pro sleeper, all powered by a Cummins ISX ST2 engine.
Barger will also receive a one-year subscription to XM Satellite Radio.

Million Milers
Epes Transport System, Inc., has announced new inductees into its “Million Mile Safe Driving Club.” J.P. Pernell was honored for reaching 4 million safe miles. Rudy Stevens and Vernon Vann both logged 3 million miles, while Gerald Marshburn and Nellow Wilkins have reached 2 million.

Inductees at the 1 million mile mark were Mike Blevins, Jonathan Carmack, Nelson Clayton, John Couch, Ellis Crawford, Terry Crummy, Frank Davis, George Davis, Junior Evans, Ernest Fleming, Jerry Fortner, Marty Hair, George Hines, Alex Kibodeaux, Kelly Laws, Myron Leath, Linda Lee, Dennis McGhee, Rodgers Mitchell, Felton Moore, Charles Nixon, Bobby Reed, Larry Sansorn, Keith Spurgeon, Stan Stinnett, Billy Stone, Furman Strickland, Larry Thompson, Charlie Valentine, Joe White, Sonny Whitmore, William Wilbourne and Roger Williamson.

Partner Insights
Information to advance your business from industry suppliers
The ALL NEW Rand Tablet
Presented by Rand McNally

Gary Lewis, Maverick Transportation’s 2002 Driver of the Year.

Top Maverick Driver
Maverick Transportation has named Gary Lewis of Paragould, Ark., as its 2002 Driver of the Year. Lewis has been with Maverick for more than five years and has received three safety awards. Coincidentally, his father, Everett Lewis, was named as a Driver of the Month in March of 1994. The two are the first father-son Driver of the Month winners in the history of Maverick.

Sitton Honorees
Sitton Motor Lines recently presented owner-operators William Nugent and William Lange with Driver of the Month awards for their dedication and job safety. Nugent, a Checotah, Okla., resident who has been with Sitton for five years, received the October award. Lange, an Anderson, Mo., resident who has been with Sitton for two years, won the November award.
Each driver received a certificate, a Sitton jacket, a $150 savings bond and a tool and flashlight set.

2 Million Miles
Transport America CEO Michael Paxton recently presented Ron Shrout with the American Trucking Associations award for 2 million accident-free miles. Shrout, who has been with Transport America for more than 13 years, was a trainer before becoming an owner-operator in 1993.

Trainer of the Year
TMC Transportation named driver/trainer Michael Harrison its Trainer of the Year for 2002. Harrison was also the Trainer of the Month for September 2002.

The Trainer Award Program is based on a scale that awards points for being accident-free, incident-free, retaining driver trainees, displaying a positive attitude, being claim-free and displaying proper load securement.

TMC also honored owner-operator Bill Richardson with the Driver of the Quarter Award for the fourth quarter of 2002. Criteria for this recognition includes years of service with the company, safe driving record, excellent customer service, professionalism and overall quality performance.