18 drivers named to ATA’s Road Team Captains ambassador program

The American Trucking Associations has named 18 truck drivers as captains to its America’s Road Team for 2019-2020 during a ceremony on Capitol Hill in Washington, D.C, on Wednesday. The program is sponsored by Volvo Trucks North America.

During their two-year term, the drivers meet with lawmakers, media, the motoring public and students on behalf of ATA and their fleets to promote the industry’s image.

The 2019-2020 America’s Road Team Captains are:

  • William C. Bennett III, UPS Freight, Maytown, Pa.
  • Sammy Brewster, ABF Freight, Powder Springs, Ga.
  • Jorge Chavez, Jetco Delivery, Houston, Texas
  • Timothy Chelette, Big G Express, Murfreesboro, Tenn.
  • James Clark, Penske Logistics, Otter Lake, Mich.
  • April Coolidge, Walmart Transportation, Mint Hill, N.C.
  • Scott Davis, ABF Freight, Kearney, Mo.
  • Douglas Frombaugh, FedEx Freight, Carlisle, Pa.
  • William Goins, Old Dominion, Cloverdale, Ind.
  • Billy Hambrick, Werner Enterprises, Yoder, Wyo.
  • Russell James, YRC Freight, Bonner, Mont.
  • Gary Martin, FedEx Ground, Galt, Calif.
  • William McNamee, Carbon Express, Christopher, Ill.
  • Tina Peterson, FedEx Ground, Blaine, Minn.
  • Theldorine Sova, Prime Inc., Sacramento, Calif.
  • Ronald Vandermark, UPS Freight, Delran, N.J.
  • Nicolette Weaver, FedEx Freight, New Bloomfield, Pa.
  • Todd Wilemon, ABF Freight, Fulton, Miss.

Aas America’s Road Team Captains, the drivers will travel the country on behalf of ATA in the association’s Interstate One Image Truck – a new Volvo VNL 760 dedicated by Volvo Trucks last summer – to share their experiences as truck drivers and the critical role the industry plays in the delivery of goods and services while also stressing the importance of a safety.