Three companies added to fireworks haulers’ annual Independence Day exemption

user-gravatar Headshot
Updated Feb 14, 2019

Three pyrotechnics companies have been added to the American Pyrotechnics Association’s exemption from the 14-hour rule for fireworks haulers during the Independence Day holiday period.

The Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration added Artisan Pyrotechnics, Montana Display Fireworks and ZY Pyrotechnics doing business as Skyshooter Displays to the exemption, bringing the total number of APA member companies operating under the exemption to 53. There had been 51 companies using the exemption, FMCSA says, but one is no longer using the exemption.

The exemption for the three new companies, as well as for the 50 companies already operating under the exemption, will expire July 8, 2020.

The exemption is valid between June 28 and July 8 each year, allowing fireworks haulers to drive beyond their 14-hour on-duty clock after 10 consecutive hours off-duty.

Showcase your workhorse
Add a photo of your rig to our Reader Rigs collection to share it with your peers and the world. Tell us the story behind the truck and your business to help build its story.
Submit Your Rig
Reader Rig Submission