News From The Fleets

The Truckload Carriers Association presented its grand prize 2003 National Fleet Safety Awards to Lawrence Transportation Company of Rochester, Minn., for truckload companies operating under 25 million miles annually, and MacKinnon Transport Inc. of Guelph, Ontario, Canada, for operations over 25 million miles.

The first place divisional winners, based on low accident frequency per million miles, were: Division I (less than 5 million miles), Specialty Transport, Knoxville, Tenn.; Division II (5 to 15 million miles) Five Star Trucking, Willoughby, Ohio; Division III (15 to 25 million miles) Grand Island Express, Grand Island, Neb.; Division IV (25 to 50 million miles), Kriska Transportation, Prescott, Ontario; Division V (50 to 100 million miles) John Christner Trucking, Sapulpa, Okla.; Division VI (more than 100 million miles) National Freight, Vineland, N.J.

The Oklahoma Trucking Association awarded Melton Truck Lines first place in Highway Safety for irregular route fleets with up to 5 million miles driven in Oklahoma.

Baylor Trucking drivers who earned $1,000 safety bonuses were: Russell East, Robert Murray, Ed O’Connor, Ron Shanks, Kulwant Singh, John Bader, Dave Cardinal and Gerald Clark.

The following Transport America drivers were honored for achieving 1 million or more accident-free miles:
Three Million Miles – Drew Mattson, Jack Adams and Lars Duckstad.
Two Million Miles – Billy Joe Biffle, David Peterson, Gary Somerville and Ronald Shrout.
One Million Miles – Alexander Schudar, Alvin Webb, Brian Tamm, Charles Montgomery, Cheryl Dechert, David Barnes, David Grundmeier, David Hanson, Dean Swenson, Dennis Meyers, Donald Dunmire, Donna Bjorklund, Earl Dechert, F. Lee Whipple, Fabian Buss, Fred Lerch, Gene Adamski, Greg Kastenschmidt, Henry Cooper, Herbert Windl, Ival Smith, Jacqueline Folsom, James Dunn, James Muse, James Yost, Jay Schwake, Jeff Eggenspiller, Jerry Lee Butts, Kathleen Keath, Kenneth Dean, Kenneth Schafer, Larry Prietz, Lawrence Powers, Lucinda Schudar, Mary Edmonds, Melvin Roering, Michael Liesemeyer, Peggy Shrout, Peter Clemmerson, Phillip Granger, Ralph Rempfer, Raymond Hart, Richard Bjorklund, Richard Grondahl, Rick Kost, Robert Helland, Robert Hug, Rodger Wood, Roger Williams, Ron Greenwell, Ronald Hesebeck, Samuel Tetrick, Stanley Rokosz, Steven Wilson, Thomas Canilla, Thomas Teske, Walter Cross, William Bell, William Edmonds, William Foskett and William Holly.

Partner Insights
Information to advance your business from industry suppliers

CFI named these award recipients for February:
Contractor Driver of the Month: Alvin Courte of Henderson, Texas.
Contractor Team of the Month: Randy and Diana Cross of Park Hill, Okla.
Company Driver of the Month: Wayne Herrington of Fort Smith, Ark.
Company Team of the Month: Bob and Peggy Stanton of Joplin, Mo.
Star Transportation recognized these drivers for safety: Steven Peters, Charles May, Victor Adamkowski, MaryLou Hoffmaster, Paul Hamilton, John Cartas, Westley Bowden, Frencilo Townsend, Charles Christopher, Dennis Lowrance, Robert Kingston, Wendell Wright, Larry Gattis, Benny Griffin, Johnny Cates, James Drury, David Dodge, Rodney Ice, Ronald Bridges and James Hurt.

Express-1 named Ran Goff of Saginaw, Mich., as Driver of the Month for February.
Paschall Truck Lines named David Molesworth Company Driver of the Month and Rudy Melendez Owner-Operator of the Month.

National Carriers recognized James Laufenberg Driver of the Year for 2003. Laufenberg, who lives in Liberal, Kan., has been leased to NCI since 1999.