Fleet Focus

Brown names 13 to Driver Safety Hall of Fame

Dedicated short-haul truckload carrier Brown Trucking, based in Lithonia, Ga., inducted 13 drivers into its Million Mile Safe Driving Driver Safety Hall of Fame. The following were recognized for driving a million consecutive miles accident-free: Robert Bower, Henry Brown, Edwin Davidson, John Eubanks, Clyde Farr, Edward Kirby, Bernard Morrison, William Powell, George Purvis, Dewey Stells, Charles Teasley, Richard Vonderheide and Mack Welch.


Decker Truck Line Inc, based in Fort Dodge, Iowa, named Ron Burken and Ron Kneedler August Drivers of the Month for the flatbed and reefer-van divisions, respectively. . . . CRST International Inc. has been named in Information Week as one of the magazine’s top innovators in technology. The Cedar Rapids, Iowa-based carrier ranked 221 on the list of 500, on which it has placed for three consecutive years. . . . Hornady Transportation Co., based in Monroeville, Ala., won the Great West Casualty Co.’s Silver Award for the fifth consecutive year.


Crete Carrier Corp., based in Lincoln, Neb., opened a new terminal in Knoxville, Tenn., near I-40 and U.S. Highway 321, accessible at exits 364 and 362. . . . Old Dominion Freight Line Inc., based in Thomasville, N.C., opened a 38-door service center near William P. Hobby Airport in South Houston, Texas, and a 44-door facility near Kalamazoo-Battle Creek International Airport in Kalamazoo, Mich. . . . Newark, N.J.-based SalSon Logistics added 100 new Wabash Duraplate HD trailers in September. n