Kenworth W990 hauling U.S. Capitol Christmas Tree from Oregon to D.C.

Updated Nov 18, 2018
cap-tree-2-2018-11-15-14-03
A brand-new Kenworth W990 is hauling the U.S. Capitol Christmas Tree from Sweet Home, Oregon, to Washington, D.C. (Photos courtesy James Edward Mills)A brand-new Kenworth W990 is hauling the U.S. Capitol Christmas Tree from Sweet Home, Oregon, to Washington, D.C. (Photos courtesy James Edward Mills)

The U.S. Capitol Christmas Tree began its cross-country journey from Oregon to Washington, D.C., last week behind a brand-new Kenworth W990.

The tree is being hauled across the country by Central Oregon Truck Company. It has already made 11 stops since leaving Sweet Home, Oregon, on Nov. 9 and will make 12 more before it arrives at the U.S. Capitol on Monday, Nov. 26.

Remaining tour stops include:

  • Friday, Nov. 16: Pocatello, Idaho
  • Saturday, Nov. 17: Fort Bridger, Wyoming
  • Sunday, Nov. 18: Laramie, Wyoming
  • Sunday, Nov. 18: Scottsbluff, Nebraska
  • Monday, Nov. 19: Nebraska City, Nebraska
  • Tuesday, Nov. 20: Perry, Kansas
  • Tuesday, Nov. 20: Kansas City, Missouri
  • Wednesday, Nov. 21: Independence, Missouri
  • Thursday, Nov. 22: St. Louis, Missouri
  • Friday, Nov. 23: Harrison, Ohio
  • Sunday, Nov. 25: Joint Base Andrews, Maryland

Once in D.C., the tree will be lit in a public ceremony on Dec. 5. Some photos of the tree’s journey can be seen below:

Cap Tree 1 2018 11 15 14 03 Cap Tree 2 2018 11 15 14 03 Cap Tree 3 2018 11 15 14 03

Showcase your workhorse
Add a photo of your rig to our Reader Rigs collection to share it with your peers and the world. Tell us the story behind the truck and your business to help build its story.
Submit Your Rig
Reader Rig Submission