'Witches Inn' '85 Pete 359 repeats, and other standout rigs named SuperRigs winners

user-gravatar Headshot
Updated Jun 18, 2022

Theresa DeSantis with Shell Rotella Best of Show trophyTheresa DeSantis claimed Best of Show at the 40th Shell Rotella SuperRigs with her 1985 Peterbilt 359, "The Witches Inn."Shell Rotella/Stephen Clark

With the beautiful White River as the backdrop to the 40th anniversary Shell Rotella SuperRigs June 9-11 at the Branson Landing in Branson, Missouri, Theresa DeSantis of Apache Junction, Arizona, captured Best of Show honors with her 1985 Peterbilt 359 with a 2016 East trailer, “The Witches Inn.”

She was awarded $10,000 from Shell Rotella. In addition, DeSantis captured the Steve Sturgess Best Theme award for her “Witches Inn” theme. She previously won Best of Show in 2019.

Truett Novosad, owner of Caldwell, Texas-based Equipment Express, won first runner up for Best of Show and $4,000 from Shell Rotella with his 2007 Peterbilt 379 EXHD, “Doc Holliday.” Dean DeSantis was awarded Best of Show second runner-up for his 2018 Peterbilt 389, “Career Gambler.”

Daniel and Phyllis Snow of Harrison, Arkansas, won the People’s Choice Award with their 1996 Freightliner Classic XL, “The Goose.” They were selected virtually with voting in part taking place online.

The Shell Rotella SuperRigs competition is a truck beauty contest for actively working trucks. Owner-operators from across the United States and Canada compete for cash and prizes valued at approximately $25,000. Twelve owners were also selected to have their trucks featured in the 2023 Shell Rotella SuperRigs calendar. 

Complete 2022 Shell Rotella SuperRigs Results

Best of Show

Theresa DeSantis, Apache Junction, Arizona -- 1985 Peterbilt 359, "The Witches Inn"

Theresa DeSantis' 1985 Peterbilt 359For winning Best of Show, Theresa DeSantis won $10,000 from Shell Rotella and a place in the 2023 Rotella SuperRigs Calendar.

Best of Show 1st Runner Up

Truett Novosad, Caldwell, Texas -- 2007 Peterbilt 379 EXHD, "Doc Holliday"

Truett Novosad's 2007 Peterbilt 379 EXHDFor winning Best of Show First Runner Up, Truett Novosad won $4,000 from Shell Rotella.Shell Rotella/Stephen Clark

Best of Show 2nd Runner Up

Dean DeSantis, Apache Junction, Arizona -- 2018 Peterbilt 389, "Career Gambler"

Dean DeSantis' 2018 Peterbilt 389For winning Best of Show Second Runner Up, Dean DeSantis won $2,000 from Shell Rotella.

Tractor-Trailer Division

1st: Todd Gribble, Somerset, Pennsylvania -- 2012 Peterbilt 389 

Truett Novosad's 2005 Peterbilt 379 EXHD2nd: Truett Novosad, Caldwell, Texas -- 2005 Peterbilt 379 EXHD, "Wyatt Earp"Shell Rotella/Stephen Clark

3rd: Ben Overton, Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada -- 2020 Kenworth W900B 
4th: Jeron Whittmore, Wesley, Arkansas -- 2018 Peterbilt 389 
5th: Mike Davidson, Pocahontas, Iowa -- 2019 Peterbilt 389

Tractor Division

1st: Kaleb Hammett, Dodd City, Texas -- 2019 Peterbilt 389 
2nd: Kyle Cousins, Carthage, Missouri -- 2021 Kenworth W900 

Fleenor Brothers' 2016 Kenworth W900, 'The Duke'3rd: Kyle Cousins, Carthage, Missouri -- 2016 Kenworth W900, "The Duke"

4th: Clayton Driskill, Spring, Texas -- 2018 Kenworth W900L, "That's My Job"

Tyler Van Der Zwaag's 1995 Peterbilt 3795th: Tyler Van Der Zwaag, Hull, Iowa -- 1995 Peterbilt 379

Classic Division

David Foster's 2005 Kenworth W900L1st: David Foster, Joplin, Missouri -- 2005 Kenworth W900L

JR Schleuger's 1985 Kenworth K1002nd: JR Schleuger, Britt, Iowa -- 1985 Kenworth K100CShell Rotella/Stephen Clark

TJ Timblin's 1982 Peterbilt 3623rd: Trevor Timblin, West Bend, Wisconsin -- 1982 Peterbilt 362

4th: Gary Tharp, Siloam Springs, Arkansas -- 1984 Peterbilt 362

Terry Aslinger's 1996 Peterbilt 3795th: Terry Aslinger, Marquand, Missouri -- 1996 Peterbilt 379EXHD

Working Truck - Limited Mileage 

1st: Robert Hallahan, La Crosse, Wisconsin -- 2022 Peterbilt 389, "Joke's on You"

Bubba Branch's 1996 Kenworth W9002nd: Bubba Branch, Lakeland, Florida -- 1996 Kenworth W900, "Just a Phase"

Steve Huff's 2022 Kenworth W900L3rd: Steve Huff, Collinsville, Oklahoma -- 2022 Kenworth W900L

Randy Victory's 1986 Peterbilt 3594th: Randy Victory, Jonesboro, Arkansas -- 1986 Peterbilt 359, "Nut Buster"

5th: Jeremy Thomas, Rocky Comfort, Missouri -- 2005 Peterbilt 379 

Show Truck

Brandon Avant's 2010 Peterbilt 389Brandon Avant, Hampton, Arkansas -- 2010 Peterbilt 389, "The Mistress"Shell Rotella/Stephen Clark

Kary Bryce, Sibley, Louisiana -- 1959 Peterbilt 351
Don Emmons, Chesterfield, Illinois --1999 Peterbilt 379
Jeron Whittmore, Wesley, Arkansas -- 1991 Peterbilt 379
Troy Bolin, Urbana, Missouri -- 1979 Peterbilt 359

Note: The Show Truck category at SuperRigs recognizes the trucks in the category but does not list a place for them.

Best Interior

Truett Novosad, Caldwell, Texas -- 2007 Peterbilt 379 EXHD, "Wyatt Earp"

Best Lights 

Randy Victory's 1986 Peterbilt 359 at nightRandy Victory, Jonesboro, Arkansas -- 1986 Peterbilt 359, "Nut Buster"

Best Theme 

Theresa DeSantis, Apache Junction, Arizona -- 1985 Peterbilt 359, "The Witches Inn"

Best Chrome

Bubba Branch, Lakeland, Florida -- 1996 Kenworth W900, "Just a Phase"

Best Engine

Engine of Bubba Branch's 1996 Kenworth W900Bubba Branch, Lakeland, Florida -- 1996 Kenworth W900, "Just a Phase"

People's Choice

Daniel and Phyllis Snow's 1996 Freightliner Classic XLDaniel and Phylis Snow, Harrison, Arkansas -- 1996 Freightliner Classic XL, "The Goose"

The Business Manual for Owner-Operators
Overdrive editors and ATBS present the industry’s best manual for prospective and committed owner-operators. You’ll find exceptional depth on many issues in the Partners in Business book, updated annually.
Partners in Business Issue Cover