MATS hosting invitation-only 'Big Rig Build-Off'

Updated Mar 7, 2024

The Mid-America Trucking Show, as part of its annual PKY Truck Beauty Championship, will also host in 2024 a Big Rig Build-Off, an invitation-only competition for truck builders to show off their best work.

Show organizers say the build-off is a “special ‘elite builders only’ class” at the event. It will pit “four of the industry’s most talented and innovative builders in a winner-takes-all competition. Each build will be evaluated on creativity, craftsmanship and overall execution,” organizers noted.

The winner will take home a $20,000 cash prize and bragging rights.

Featured builders in the 2024 Big Rig Build-Off are:

  • Adam Johnson, Johnson Hill Customs and K&D Transport. Johnson Hill Customs is a full-service diesel repair and customization company that does anything from big custom projects to basic mechanical work. Johnson this year was among Overdrive's Small Fleet Champ semi-finalists for his family's K&D Transport flatbed fleet. 
  • Dustin Dickerson, Dickerson Custom Trucks. Dickerson began his career in vehicle customization at the age of 20, when he started Invision Auto in a building he rented from his grandfather. Now, he owns Dickerson Custom Trucks, which operates out of Thorntown, Indiana. They are a full-service shop that offers everything from mechanical work to custom fabrication.
  • Troy Massey, Massey Motor Freight. Massey and his wife, Abby, founded Massey Motor Freight in 2016 in Nacogdoches, Texas. Troy also runs a custom shop that often creates hand-made and custom-made parts for truck builds.
  • Brian and Thomas Davis, Davis Brothers Designs. Davis Brothers Designs is a full-service custom semi shop based in Owensville, Indiana. The company was founded by Brian and Tom Davis, who were initially grain farmers that used trucks primarily for the transportation of their crops. Their trucks often feature custom paint jobs, chrome accents, and gigantic stereo builds.

[Related: Undisputed: Introducing the 2023 Pride & Polish champs]